The Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the International Honor society of two-year colleges at Harford Community College, inducted new members into the Honor Society on April 1. The Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students. To be eligible for membership, a student must have completed 12 credit hours at HCC and have a cumulative GPA of 3.5. 

The ceremony opened with a welcome from Harford Community College President, Dr. Dianna G. Phillips. She was followed by keynote speaker, Bryan Angelilli, who is both credit adjunct faculty member at Harford and a Phi Theta Kappa alumnus. Dozens of family members and friends attended the event to celebrate their loved one’s academic achievement.
At the ceremony, it was announced that the Rho Beta Executive Officer team was awarded the Distinguished Officer Team Award for 2019 by Phi Theta Kappa’s national headquarters. Officer teams are nominated by their chapter advisors and are chosen based on the team’s demonstration of an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership, promotion of Honors in Action, and engagement in the Society. Officer teams were selected by a panel of judges from more than 190 nominees internationally.

The following students were formally inducted into the Rho Beta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa: Sierra Baker, Kayla Betancourt, Mikaela Carandang, Katelyn Cogar, Scott Crane, Ryan Gerenser, Ruth Gill, Kyle Haywood, Christopher Hopkins, Ashley Hoppa, Edith Kpalbil, Aram Lee, D'Asya Nelson, Arthur Nguyen, Johann Peniche, Erin Piscitelli, Mylezha Robertson, Kaitlyn Roney, Victoria Selby, Zachary Serp, Jessica Slade, and Patrick Voelker. 

The Executive Officers for the 2018-2019 academic year are Hope Timoll, President; Lynnette Mitchell-Grady, Executive Vice President; Savannah Blythe, Vice President of Chapter Events; Moriah Yousefi, Vice President for Scholarly Projects & Research; Krista Wilcox, Administrative Vice President; and Corbin Topf, Vice President of Leadership. 

For more information on Harford Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society, Rho Beta Chapter, call 443-412-2076 or email